Zaandam Resurrection

davhill

Mar 7, 2021
Country
Good evening from the UK,

I'm a total newbie in this field and I'm seeking advice on inducing

my newly acquired Zaandam/Zanse-style wall clock to run. I bought it as a non-runner and having done some research, I can tell you quite a lot about it. Please forgive my rookie mistakes in terminology, etc.

So far, I've taken off the brassware, including Atlas and the bell he stands on. I've also carried out a little testing as follows...

By attaching the chime train's weight and turning the clock's hands, I've found that the chimes work inasmuch as they click once on the half hour and the correct number of times on the hour (passing strike?). To achieve this much, I repositioned the hands on the shafts. The bell doesn't work for a reason that'll become clear.

Inside, the movement isn't a skeleton item and there are no markings on the back plate. I understand this means it's a Regula movement that will have date markings, etc on the front.

And now for the problems currently present...

The chime hammer seems to be lacking a spring that will hold it nearer the bell. The start wheel works to make if move but it's generally a sloppy fit and not controlled properly.

Next, the time train. This is currently locked solid, with the weight hook at the very top. If I fit the pendulum and apply finger pressure to one of the cogs inside, the clock will tick, notably faster than my other wall clock - a Korean Westminster chime one.

Again inside, I've removed the movement mounting screws but I can't extract the movement because...

(a) The pendulum holder (?) won't clear the case.

(b) The hammer fouls the slot in the top of the case and

(c) The time chain's chain is too short - I've opened a link to remove the majority but the wheel the chain passes over won't move.