WW Lathe on Borel Mount

Discussion in 'Horological Tools' started by HUGO2, Nov 10, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. HUGO2

HUGO2 New Member

Nov 10, 2019
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Greetings Everyone! I'm new to Community here, so bear with me if I seem to know little and ask much.

I'm "teaching myself" antique watch repair, if such a thing is possible. I'm getting better at it, enough so that I recently decided to purchase a watchmaker's lathe online.

After browsing around for a year or so, collecting data, reading De Carle and others, and talking to owners, I have purchased a WW watchmaker's lathe on eBay, that seems to be in very nice condition for its age. The S.N. is 7897, and it has cleaned up really well, and appears to be ready for a reboot to use.

The lathe came with a nut and threaded rod meant to be passed up through the watchmaker's bench, lathe shoe, and finally into the bed.

I have opted to mount the lathe and motor on a Borel mount purchased through Ofrei.com, which has arrived with mounting hardware which does not work. The bolts are not the correct thread size for the bed.

My initial assessment was that the bed required a 5/16" X 24 TPI bolt. This assessment has been subsequently proven to be wrong, as has the next best metric approximation. Yikes.

Setting the original threaded hardware against my calipers, and counting thread to thread, I find the required TPI for this bed to be closer the 26 TPI, a nonstandard size in today's hardware stores, certainly.

I need help here.

The 7897 SN seems to indicate a pre- 1900 model (I don't know this definitively), so am wondering whether another thread size was available/common at that time?

I'd like to find a suitable bolt to fit this bed, but if I cannot, I'd rather drill a hole in my bench that retap the bed.

Any advice from the experts in the Community is much appreciated!
    Kind Regards,
    Hugo2