Wooden movement & Clock ID

Discussion in 'Wood Movement Clocks' started by durant7, Apr 16, 2013.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. durant7

durant7 Registered User

Mar 24, 2012
    I am a novice but trying to learn. The subject clock is repaired and running by a NAWCC member but I did not collect any info nor did he offer it. I thought it would be nice to pass on to the next generation a bit more history about the clock. This is not a value question, I just would like to have a family story to pass on for all those clocks that have survived over the past few generations.

Sadly the inside paper typically pasted on the back is gone. From my reading here on the forum, it seems like the experts can look at a movement and make a suggestion. It is a 30 hour clock. If other details are needed just ask. This is one of three wooden movement clocks which were passed down. I am starting with the "largest" and with the least info.

On the back of the solid wood, original painted face it has the following.

JT 1855 N 5/ (pencil, large, center top of panel)

My uneducated and unfounded guess this was the maker. The following I think are subsequent clock makers that may have worked on the clock.

Mar 26th 1861 (scribed)
    J. Sorlhnadge Stamford May 24th 1864 (pencil top)
    M. 7th 1866 (scribed)

If there is other info needed, just ask. If this is a futile and silly initiative on my part, I am all ears.

Thanks in advance,

JD in NH

Attached Files:

2. rmarkowitz1_cee4a1

rmarkowitz1_cee4a1 Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Nov 26, 2009
    Country Flag:
    Nice clock.

I had a clock by Willams, Orten's and Preston with that case style, but their movements are brass bushed and so touted on the label.