Wood Works Pinion Replacement

Harv

NAWCC Brass Member
May 12, 2010
Benton, PA
Country
Region
Good morning - I am relatively new to clock repair; a few years ago I attended the week-long hobbyist course at the NAWCC school. Since then, I have supplemented with weekend courses, including the wood works clock class. I truly enjoy working on wood works clocks, and have worked on a half dozen or so with great success. I have a 30-hr Terry type movement ready to re-assemble, and ran into a small glitch that perhaps someone will have a repair tip to proceed.

I need to replace two pivots - one on the Time 2 wheel and one on the govenor. It appears someone replaced the T2 pinion somewhere along the way, but it is badly grooved - too grooved to polish out. The govenor's pivot is badly bend. The problem is that I do not have an exact replacement size in my pivot wire assortment packets sold by the various supply houses. It appears I will need to use a smaller diameter pivot, but I am not sure how to firmly secure the replacement in the arbors for a solid fit. This should be an easy repair, but I am just not sure on the best approach. I will appreciate any thoughts from fellow repairs. Thanks. Harv.

Last edited:

John Teeter

NAWCC Fellow
NAWCC Member
Golden Circle
Jan 31, 2001
Hi Harv,