Wood refinishing

Discussion in 'Case Construction, Repair & Restoration' started by Daniel West, Sep 15, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Daniel West

Daniel West Registered User
    NAWCC Member

May 3, 2018
    Male
    Dentist
    Lancaster County, PA
    Country Flag:
    I am a newbie to clocks and a new NAWCC member. I recently purchased an old ST clock. The clock wood finish is in pretty good shape but is dirty and reeks of cigarette smoke. What would be the best way to clean the wood finish without hurting the value of the clock? And, how do I get rid of the smoke smell? I noticed that the works are ST number 24. Where can I get a manual to help me take it apart and get it running again. Also, it is missing a pendulum and key. How do I find parts that match? Thanks a million.
    Dan

2. MartinM

MartinM Registered User

Jun 24, 2011
    Male
    Medical Insurance Systems Analyst
    El Dorado, CA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    If you can post some pictures of the clock, including one of the back movement plate, I'm sure folks will be able to tell you the model and best way to proceed on both the case and movement.

3. Daniel West

NAWCC Member

May 3, 2018
    Male
    Dentist
    Lancaster County, PA
    Country Flag:
    Thanks, Martin. I will try and add a couple of photos here. I did note that the model number is 124, not 24.

Yg61mPijQ7qOMxpjr9wobA.jpg hOdXmI31TlWUqbdXBFvIeg.jpg XO1quicBS%6dy6iKLp94Jg.jpg

4. breeze

breeze Registered User

May 2, 2010
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    It's a Seth Thomas 124 movement and is not a good choice for your first movement to repair, just search the MB for comments on this movement. I'm sure Steve Conover covers it in one of his manuals. Again, if it's your first movement, I would think twice. After you have a good deal of experience go ahead and dive in.

Breeze

PatH likes this.
  5. JTD