• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center are currently open. Please check the Visiting Schedule for Days and Hours at the bottom of the Visit Page.

Wiring IBM Slave

testguy

Registered User
NAWCC Member
Dec 21, 2005
489
92
28
Country
Region
I want to run an IBM Slave from my IBM Model 35 Master Clock.
The 1st picture shows the back of the IBM Slave, the 2nd picture shows the Master Clock terminal block, and the 3rd picture shows the Master Clock.

I would like to know how to wire the slave to the master clock.

Many thanks
Brian 306212.jpg 306213.jpg 306214.jpg
 

harold bain

Registered User
NAWCC Member
Deceased
Nov 4, 2002
40,853
172
63
72
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Country
Region
You would need to build a 24 volt DC power supply to run your slave clocks. The schematic shows what IBM uses.

100_0259.JPG
 
  • Like
Reactions: JDToumanian

testguy

Registered User
NAWCC Member
Dec 21, 2005
489
92
28
Country
Region
Harold, thanks for the reply. I have included better pictures of the IBM Slave I want to use.
On the Master Clock terminal block, using 1 through 7 from left to right, is the 24 VDC supply not already there?
I have not tried to wire anything, but did observe cut-off wires on terminals 2,3,4 and 7 on the Master Clock terminal block.
 

harold bain

Registered User
NAWCC Member
Deceased
Nov 4, 2002
40,853
172
63
72
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Country
Region
Have you found a transformer and rectifier behind the dial somewhere? And perhaps a relay as well?
 

testguy

Registered User
NAWCC Member
Dec 21, 2005
489
92
28
Country
Region
Can I put a voltage meter across the terminals to check the output. What are the terminals for?
 

harold bain

Registered User
NAWCC Member
Deceased
Nov 4, 2002
40,853
172
63
72
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Country
Region
The terminals are for hooking up the device I posted a schematic for.
 

testguy

Registered User
NAWCC Member
Dec 21, 2005
489
92
28
Country
Region
Thanks Harold. I now undedrstand what i need to do.