• Upcoming updates
    Over the next couple of weeks we will be performing software updates on the forum. These will be completed in small steps as we upgrade individual software addons. You might occasionally see a maintenance message that will last a few minutes at most.

If we anticipate an update will take more than a few minutes, we'll put up a notice with estimated time.

Thank you!

Wilsdorf and Davis - help

chauncey717

New User
Aug 7, 2012
Hello

I recently purchased what was represented to be a 1909 Wilsdorf and Davis Fob watch with a bow pin for slightly under $300. This was a bit of an impulse buy and I wonder if someone could verify that it is what it is supposed to be as I have no knowledge about watches at all.
I have attached some pictures, but it was difficult to focus given the position of the marks and the glare so here is what is on the watch.
Whan you open up the rear cover which is enameled, there are four marks near the top (XI, .925, Omega symbol, & either an O or 0). Below this is W&D inside an oval and the number 415515

There is then an inner cover that exposes the movement. The inner cover has also .925, a circle within a circle, but the circles have gaps at the 90 degree marks. There is also the XI, the W&D in an oval, and the # 415515 again.

On the movement there is the W&D in an oval, Swiss Made, FA, and 15 Jewels

The watch actually works and keeps very good time considering age - maybe a minute off after three days.