What's Wrong with my Watch?

Marv

NAWCC Member
Jan 29, 2021
Country
I just got this Bunn back from service. It was my great grandfather's watch, so I had it cleaned and lubed.

I hooked it up to my home-made timing grapher and got this (both watches are dial up):

1617394076645.png

Now, the amplitude is good, I think, but the beat error is poor. However, the signal in the "oscilloscope" looks like crap. No amount of gain setting can fix this.

Here is the same watch with the tracks:

1617396050290.png

So, here is my personal Bunn that I just "serviced" the balance wheel. I'm a complete newbie, but the signal on the timing oscilloscope looks more like what I would expoect:

1617394526950.png

So, why the stark difference in signals? The cases are different between the two watches, mine is a 1911 18s and my great grandfather's is a 1921 16s.

Last edited:

Marv

NAWCC Member
Jan 29, 2021
Country
So have you tried getting into better beat?
No. This is straight from the service shop.

I would guess that the hairspring collet needs to be turned slightly to do that?

But all that hash in the oscilloscope trace wouldn't be from beat error and it doesn't seemto do it when the pendant is up, only dial up.

Skutt50

Mar 14, 2008
Gothenburg
Country
The Beat Error is a bit too high but the watch should run without any problems (except a slightly lower swing.) Now, your swing is 328 degrees and with a zerored Beat Error this may increase. Keep an eye on if the swing gets close to knocking. If so you might consider having a slightly weaker mainspring installed.

it doesn't seemto do it when the pendant is up, only dial up.
If this happend ONLY when you have it Dial Up it may be linked to the hairspring beeing too close to the balance cock and it actually touches the cock.

Try listening with your ear. Do you hear a different sound when holding the watch Dial Up and Dial Down?

Also check the end shake of the balance.