What theoretical advantage, if any, does a duo-in-uno hairspring possess over a helical hairspring?

Discussion in 'European & Other Pocket Watches' started by Clint Geller, Mar 26, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Check it out in the NAWCC Events forum:
    Talk about the upcoming National Meeting
    If you love watches or clocks you've got to come!
  1. Clint Geller

Clint Geller Registered User
    Gibbs Literary Award NAWCC Fellow NAWCC Member

Jul 12, 2002
    Male
    I am a research physicist at a government lab
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I am curious. Greater ease of positional adjustment? More isochronous? Something else? What justified the added effort?

2. gmorse

gmorse Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jan 7, 2011
    Male
    Retired from Xerox
    Breamore, Hampshire, UK
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hi Clint,

One advantage claimed for it was the use of a smaller collet which reduced positional errors. There was some dispute between McLennon, Hammersley and Walsh over who originated the concept, but I wonder if it was partly a matter of 'I can do this spectacularly difficult thing, which very few others can'.

For those here who may not have seen one of these, this is a Hammersley.

DSCF5465.JPG

Regards,

Graham

Keith R... and Clint Geller like this.
  3. MartyR

MartyR Moderator
    NAWCC Member

Dec 16, 2008
    UK
    Country Flag:
    The Duo in Uno spring was first shown to the public on the Charles Frodsham stand at the Great Exhibition of 1862 in Kensington, London.

Vaudrey Mercer's book The Frodshams says the following of the spring:

This is praised on Page 22 [of the Exhibition catalogue], where he [Frodsham] says that it ensures "almost certainly correct performance in all the various positions with a perfectly poised balance".