What On Earth?

BCR

May 3, 2020
Country
Where do I even begin with this one? I have been repairing clocks for close to 35 years now, and I have had the pleasure of working on some very nice pieces. I have also run into some that in the past were "tinkered with", but this one wins the prize as the poorest thing I've yet seen in person. I did a house call recently and picked up a very respectable grandfather clock, a kitchen clock with alarm, and then the customer asked me to take this one along and see if I could do anything for it. OK, so that has been several days now, and I have looked at this mistreated old clock several times now and I'm just scratching my head. FIRST OF ALL LET ME BE CLEAR, I am sharing this more as "entertainment" than asking for advice or how to possibly return this to anything even resembling what it should be. Of course, comments and suggestions are totally welcomed! Well to start with there's the wood clock case, back ripped out and discarded, and sides hacked into with a hand saw obviously. Then the old Seth Thomas 89C movement. Salvageable? Possibly. Notice the main wheel is jammed firmly against the home made wooden side inserts! It's missing the alarm mechanism, either that or the dial pan is not original and of course the paper insert and the lower dial is also printed paper, just glued in place and poorly done at that. Maybe this should just go into the "What NOT To Do To An Old Clock" Hall Of Fame. Or maybe just get it running and call it Early Steampunk! Or return it "as is" back to my customer and he can proudly display Grandpa's "out in the barn moonshine handiwork". I certainly have a responsibility to do right, both by my customer and to all old clocks that come into my hands. I am leaning toward the option of returning it untouched unless I find an exact original donor clock and can make one good clock from 2. I just wanted to share this in hopes that some of you get a chuckle and who knows, maybe an idea or 2!! Here are the