What do I have?

Discussion in 'European & Other Pocket Watches' started by PAB1969, May 6, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. It's Coming
    Just Two More Days
  1. PAB1969

PAB1969 Registered User

May 6, 2020
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Hello. New member here. I need help in identifying this antique pocket watch. I am a novice and any information I received was from extensive google searches. I believe I have a Hamilton snap back case and possibly M.J. Tobias movement. I have many questions.

1. Is the Hamilton case silver? I could not find any markings.
    2. Is the Hamilton case a salesman sample? It has a glass, open face back.
    3. Is this an actual M.J. Tobias movement? The engraved scenic landscape along with the beautiful accents around the Roman numerals has me leaning in this direction.
    4. Is the movement face gold? Once again, no markings found.
    5. What is this worth? It does not work but the movement hands can be manipulated by center dial in the rear.

Thank you in advance, Philip.
    505904-4b7ba25e9a5325f9036a3877c4f07d8e.jpg 505905-936a5eade54872d25dccb6c2a061594f.jpg 505906-341b327cf3fd9d1d9f10738edef00222.jpg 505909-86172057b7a7bcb651c274bc7c5b9a31.jpg

Keith R... likes this.
  2. Jim Haney

Jim Haney Registered User
    NAWCC Member Sponsor

Sep 21, 2002
    Male
    Working the farm, Garden,horses, goats, chickens,
    Decatur, TN.
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Phillip,
    Welcome to the NAWCC forums.
    The case is indeed a Hamilton salesman case. It is mostly nickel and has no metal value, just a great way to show off a watch without having to open it up. Someone will add the info about your watch.

PAB1969 likes this.
  3. PAB1969

PAB1969 Registered User

May 6, 2020
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Thank you Jim.

4. gmorse

gmorse Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jan 7, 2011
    Male
    Retired from Xerox