westminster chimes out of sync

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by macquin, Nov 18, 2013.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. For the new NAWCC home page
    Click this image at the upper left corner of this page.
  1. macquin

macquin Registered User

Nov 18, 2013
    First, let me say that I am a newbie that knows little about clocks.
    I was recently given a westminster chime mantle clock which keeps time perfectly.
    It chimes on the 1/4, 1/2 3/4 and hour ok but the problem is that
    the number of strikes on the hour is erratic. For eg. at 3 o'clock it may strike four or five times.
    At 11 o'clock one or 5 times. there is no set pattern it just seems to strike at random.
    I have tried to move the hour hand to correspond to the number of strikes but with no success.
    I would be most grateful if someone could help me to solve this problem.
    I do not know the clocker makers name.

2. wow

wow Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jun 24, 2008
    Male
    Retired Music Minister
    Pineville, La. (central La.)
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Welcome, Macquin.

It would help if we knew what kind of clock it is. It may have a rack and snail set-up for the hour strike, or it may have a count wheel if it is an older clock. Photos of the clock and the movement would help us determine what is wrong.

Will

3. harold bain

harold bain Registered User
    NAWCC Member Deceased

Nov 4, 2002
    Male
    deceased
    Whitby, Ontario, Canada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Will, I've never seen a chiming clock with a count wheel strike.

Macquin, welcome to the message board. Good chance your rack isn't dropping reliably. How far do you want to get into learning clock repair? Your first task will be removing the movement from the case.

4. Tony10Clocks

Tony10Clocks Registered User

Aug 10, 2010
    Northant's
    Country Flag: