• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center are currently open. Please check the Visiting Schedule for Days and Hours at the bottom of the Visit Page.

Watch Makers Bench

J

jwdavis

This is my first time posting to this board although I have been a regular on the other boards for several months.

I ran across something that I thought might be of interest to the regulars here. The Elgin Area Historical Society recently completed an exhibit of the Elgin National Watch Company and there is a watch makers bench on display that was built by an employee of the company for his own use. Here is a link to 5 pics.

http://www.picturetrail.com/gallery/view?p=999&gid=1374213&uid=605699&members=1

The museum curator told me that the family was hauling this bench out to the tree lawn for disposal! When somebody expressed interest in it they decided to keep it. Wouldn't you like to have been driving by at that moment in time! Enjoy.

Jack Davis
Nawcc #155192

J

jwdavis

This is my first time posting to this board although I have been a regular on the other boards for several months.

I ran across something that I thought might be of interest to the regulars here. The Elgin Area Historical Society recently completed an exhibit of the Elgin National Watch Company and there is a watch makers bench on display that was built by an employee of the company for his own use. Here is a link to 5 pics.

http://www.picturetrail.com/gallery/view?p=999&gid=1374213&uid=605699&members=1

The museum curator told me that the family was hauling this bench out to the tree lawn for disposal! When somebody expressed interest in it they decided to keep it. Wouldn't you like to have been driving by at that moment in time! Enjoy.

Jack Davis
Nawcc #155192

Wayne C. Anderson

Dec 20, 2001
Thanks for posting the pictures of the watch makers bench, and the article..made my evening very ejoyable looking at all the details.
Thanks

Wayne

D

Doug

Hello Jack,