Was the C.H. Meylan Brand Ever Affiliated with IWC?

Discussion in 'European & Other Pocket Watches' started by Ethan Lipsig, Nov 30, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Ethan Lipsig

Ethan Lipsig Registered User
    NAWCC Gold Member

Jan 8, 2006
    Pasadena
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I have seen a number of Tiffany PL wristwatch movements that were signed by C.H. Meylan and stamped with the US import code HXB. That was IWC's import code. I presently own this example.

Tiffany movement.jpg

If you can shed light on the Meylan-IWC connection, I would be grateful for an explanation. I will post this message in the WW forum as well.

2. Tom McIntyre

Tom McIntyre Technical Admin
    Staff Member NAWCC Star Fellow NAWCC Ruby Member Sponsor

Aug 24, 2000
    Male
    retired SW dev
    Boston
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Do you have a date for the watch? I am no expert on this, but I thought the import codes identified the organization that does the import, i.e. the American entity responsible for it.

Is C. H. Meylan currently a maker, or just a name used by whomever thinks they can get away with it?

This looks like a very fine example to me. There is another very similar that I found that is 17 jewels and not quite as nice condition. It has the same import code.

Omexa likes this.
  3. Ethan Lipsig

NAWCC Gold Member

Jan 8, 2006
    Pasadena
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Tom, the watch has a 1948 inscription. I collect C.H. Meylan PWs and information about C.H. Meylan. He died in 1916. PWs signed "C.H.Meylan" seem to have been sold after Meylan's death until at least the early 30s. Thereafter, at least a small number of WWs were marketed under his name. I don't know who owned the brand after Meylan died or whether his brand was used without authorization.