Waltham "RAIL ROAD" Dial

onsite

NAWCC Member
Mar 6, 2011
CehNehDeh
Country
Region
Does anyone know when this dial was first available? 3 varieties appear in the Waltham Watch Materials Catalogue 1909
DSC03114.JPG
I had assumed the "RAIL ROAD" hands, (Also shown and named as such in the 1909 Waltham Catalogue) were only used on this particular dial but an ad from The Railway Conductor, Oct. 1917 would indicate otherwise.
Waltham RR hands RWY Condr Oct.1917  copy.jpeg

Marty101

NAWCC Member
Oct 28, 2007
Niagara Falls,N.Y.
Country
Hey Neighbor,
I'm not a dial expert,but certainly some dials were meant for the railroad service. I believe men had a limited choice in hands for their railroad pocket watches.
Sometimes all we have to work with is observation,opinion,and old ads. I have seen your particular style on many railroad models such as Vanguard,Crescent Street,and etc. including Wind Indicators. I think they are appropriate for a 645,but I have also seen 2 or 3 SAM_2639.JPG more styles including this one-

Larry Treiman

Jan 18, 2009
So. Calif.
Does anyone know when this dial was first available? 3 varieties appear in the Waltham Watch Materials Catalogue 1909
225092.jpg
I had assumed the "RAIL ROAD" hands, (Also shown and named as such in the 1909 Waltham Catalogue) were only used on this particular dial but an ad from The Railway Conductor, Oct. 1917 would indicate otherwise.
225091.jpg

Hi, onsite,

You found the three "Rail Road" dials appearing on pages 12 and 13 of the April 1909 catalogue of "Waltham Watch Material" but you missed my two favorite "Rail Road" dials that appear on page 14. Those are the BOLD Roman numeral versions, 2564/2565 (no marginal numerals) and 2576/2577 (red marginal Arabic 5-minute numerals).