Waltham hunter case

Discussion in 'American Pocket Watches' started by Rolo, Dec 11, 2006.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Rolo

Rolo Guest

Hello,

I inherited some time ago a small pocket watch that seems to be a gold filled hunter case watch made by American Waltham Watch Co. SN is 16,232,667. Dust cover is marked with "Capitol W.C. Co warranted 25 years" with a serial number. The hunter case back cover is marked with "Star W.C. Co" and a serial number plus a handgraving made with a pointed object saying "7047 XIV and N 122". I am new to pocket watches and I am puzzled by the small size of that watch (dial is about 1" 10/32), the absence of any model or jewel indication. The case is nicely engraved on about 50-60% of its surface on both sides. The watch came also with a chain dated 1904. Could you tell me more about that watch? What is its size, model? What is its market value? It is complete, in very good condition and functionning. Thanks in advance.

2. Tom McIntyre

Tom McIntyre Technical Admin
    Staff Member NAWCC Star Fellow NAWCC Ruby Member Sponsor

Aug 24, 2000
    Male
    retired SW dev
    Boston
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    #2 Tom McIntyre, Dec 11, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 7, 2017
    The serial number is for a size 6 model 1890 ladies watch. That was keywind and likely sold to the English market. It is a grade "J" or lower grade watch with 7 jewels.

This watch was made around 1906, long after Waltham had stopped producing keywind watches for the domestic market. However, the English were still buying low jewel count gilt finish keywind watches.

The records don't state whether this watch is gilt or nickel finish and you did not mention if it winds with a key. It is possible that it is not correctly recorded in the company records. There are many errors known with many still to be found.

3. Walt Wilkins

Walt Wilkins Registered User