• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center are currently open. Please check the Visiting Schedule for Days and Hours at the bottom of the Visit Page.

Wall clock bought in Brussels - please help

Frantisek

Sep 12, 2010
I have bought recently a wall clock in Brussels, in quiet a good condition, but I am not an expert and I am not able to identify the origin. Any help would be appreciated.
Clock plays very special chime music every hour, pendulum is in an unusual shape of Sun.
Thank you in advance

Attachments

soaringjoy

Feb 12, 2009
Germany, North Rhine-Westphalia
Country
Region
Hello Frantisek,

first, your clock was made by Kienzle, Schwenningen, Germany.
The case style was made for a longer period of time, so you
should show us pics of the whole movement and a detail
of the dial, too.

The clock should have a more or less elaborate pediment
(headpiece), though.

Jurgen

harold bain

NAWCC Member
Deceased
Nov 4, 2002
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Country
Region
Welcome to the message board Frantisek. Very nice looking wall clock. Can you describe the "very special chime music" your clock plays on the hour?

Frantisek

Sep 12, 2010
Dear friends, thank you for your quick replies, which actually gave me the first indication about the origin of my clock. I was a bit surprise with the inf that is was made by Kienzle, because I have seen only some different trade marks of the firm. Most probably there is no possibility to say more about the date from the modest information engraved on the back side of the clock movement, but there is unfortunately nothing more. I will make more pictures of the dial, pendulum and the case (who knows if it is an original case), and I will also try to find a way to record and send the sound.
Once more my thanks to all of you
Regard Frantisek

soaringjoy

Feb 12, 2009
Country
Region
Oh yeah.
See, the problem is, there was no serial number recording
by the major clock factories of the time and much data was
lost, destroyed or dumped.