Vintage Star lathe.

Discussion in 'Horological Tools' started by Roy Horrorlogic, Jun 20, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Roy Horrorlogic

Roy Horrorlogic Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Mar 7, 2017
    Country Flag:
    Apologies in advance for the generality of this post.
    Whilst I have some idea about lathes and their use, I am a novice. I took the plunge yesterday and purchased a Star lathe formerly owned by a 3rd generation watchmaker who has retired due to ill health. It was not cheap. Having had a couple of conversations with him over the years, I have some confidence that this tool is serviceable. It's complete with a motor and variable speed foot switch. I'll post a couple of quick snaps. I have yet to build a base-board to mount it - awaiting suitable bolts etc.

I have many questions but fortunately there seem to be quite a few YT tutorials. I have also ordered a reprint of a 50's book on this subject. But before I attempt to set it up and use it I have a couple of questions that someone here might be kind enough to address.

The lathe has been stored for a few years and is generally grubby. I have considered putting the components through an ultrasonic bath however I cannot see how lubricants are (re-) introduced. I have no idea how well these lathes hold up over the years but I was encouraged to see that an identical model is still available from Cousins UK - at a staggering price. But clearly the condition of the (plain?) bearings must be critical: how to check this?

I hope that the snaps below show enough detail to determine whether the lathe is complete - as I was told it was. There are also a few small components, gravers etc, including a couple that the original owner was adamant were very expensive according to the relative with whom I did the deal. I have no idea what they are.