French $ Vincenti clock

Discussion in 'General Clock Discussions' started by Salsagev, Jun 28, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Salsagev

Salsagev Registered User

Feb 6, 2020
    Male
    Student
    Madison
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I was told This French clock is by vincenti. How old is it and can I have some background information on it?

2. JTD

JTD Registered User

Sep 27, 2005
    Did you mean to post a photo?

JTD

3. Ticktocktime100

Ticktocktime100 Registered User

Hi,

Pardon the self-publicity, but I've already given my two cents worth in my first reply to your "vacation finds" thread, so you cna refer to that if you wish.

Regards.

4. Salsagev

Salsagev Registered User

Feb 6, 2020
    Male
    Student
    Madison
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Yes, I did but it disappeared. I’ll try again.
    whats this?

5. Ticktocktime100

I'm referring to my reply to your thread "Vacation clock finds", which I enclose once again below:

1. The figural clock is late 19th century, and dates to 1880-1900. It has a typical French movement, known as a "mouvement de Paris" as these movements were mostly produced in Paris and the surrounding areas. As you know, it was made by Vincenti & Cie. The figure appears to be signed F. Moreau. The Moreau was an important family of French sculptors throughout the 19th century, the most famous members being Auguste and Mathurin Moreau. The Moreau brothers agreed to make spelter reproductions (of which this is one), of the bronze original for clock companies to produce pieces such as this. The hands don't appear to be original - value around $200-300, perhaps.

6. Salsagev

Salsagev Registered User

Feb 6, 2020
    Male
    Student
    Madison
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Thank you, but all I needed was an explanation of what you meant.

7. Salsagev

Salsagev Registered User

Feb 6, 2020
    Male
    Student