various disassembly issues

Quinn

Feb 18, 2021
Country
I am working to disassemble a Swiss pin set pocket watch, 0s. This watch had a surprise in that the movement cover is glass, quite cool - except that currently a rather rusted movement.

I came across several issues (newbie here):
1. I lost the nail set pin much to my devastation, I did not realize it could be removed and it must have fallen down the sink when I cleaned the case. Can these be replaced?
2. I am having trouble removing the cannon pinion. It's in a recessed location. I do not have the bergeon cannon pinion tool, wondering if that is worthwhile getting and if so my question is are there various sizes and what might work of this 0s; they are quite expensive.
3. The barrel is connected to the bridge and wheel underneath and the arbor does not seem to release easily. I'm not sure on this construction and wanted to make sure it can be released.

Thank you so much for your help.

2021-03-01 14.59.47.jpg 2021-03-01 15.00.02.jpg 2021-03-02 09.05.26.jpg 2021-03-02 09.21.15.jpg 2021-03-02 09.05.56.jpg 2021-03-02 09.04.25.jpg 2021-03-02 09.04.35.jpg

darrahg

NAWCC Fellow
NAWCC Member
Dec 22, 2006
Houston
Country
Region
I don't know about replacement parts but here are a couple comments about disassembly that might help.
I believe the canon pinion is friction fit. Tap it lightly at the top where the center wheel arbor protrudes and it should free up the canon pinion. Do this carefully.
The disks with two holes are threaded. Get a cheap screw driver of appropriate size and file down the center of the tip so you have the edges protruding. The protruding edges will then go into the holes and you can loosen them. Some use tweezers if they are not on tight. Good luck.

Reactions: Quinn

Chris Radek

NAWCC Member
Apr 13, 2014
Lincoln, NE, USA
timeguy.com
Country