Using palladium leaf for "silvering" a dial

Discussion in 'Reverse Glass and Dial Painting' started by Russ Granzow, Jan 11, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Russ Granzow

Russ Granzow Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Jan 10, 2019
    Jim DuBois likes this.
  2. novicetimekeeper

novicetimekeeper Registered User

Jul 26, 2015
    Male
    retired and on my second career
    Dorset
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I would question what technique of silvering resulted in a chrome hubcap look. Certainly not the traditional displacement reaction with silver chloride.

3. klokwiz

klokwiz Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Feb 4, 2009
    WRENCH
    Annapolis, MD
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I am far from an expert in these matters but examining the photos in the article the results appear less than ideal. The silvered areas appear to have an aluminum appearance rather than the classic silvered appearance. this is especially evident on the name badge, there is also a great deal of color variation especially around the noon hour.
    I expect the primary intent was to not replace original material, but it appears to me that the silvering was all but gone from the dial rings and may have been better corrected by a re-silvering with the numerals re-waxed. the hands also seem to have a strange coloration.

That being said there is no doubt the dial has been greatly improved and it is difficult to really discern the product just from photos on a computer screen.

I hope someone answers the original question of what the process is they used.

Joe

4. novicetimekeeper

Jul 26, 2015
    Male
    Dorset
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I hadn't read the text in the link before. I quite agree that the cleaning and restoration should have been left to a professional, they should have let somebody else do it.

5. Jim DuBois

Jim DuBois Registered User