Urgos UW 32/11 Chimes don't stop and Doesn't sync with hour strike.

nwilson

Feb 26, 2021
Country
Hi all. Total noob here. I'm a museum professional and tinkerer. I've always been fascinated by clocks and watches but never had the energy to take on a new hobby. In my line of work I am quite detail oriented and careful in my processes, but clocks are new to me.

My grandmother has a grandmother clock that my grandfather made for her many decades ago. After he passed away it was not oiled or looked after regularly and stopped keeping time.

I did my research and learned how to clean, oil, adjust the pendulum timing, etc. The basic maintenance stuff. It is currently working fine and keeping accurate time (at least for the last week ). All pivots are still in beautiful shape, my grandfather took fabulous care of it. The autocorrect function hadn't worked in years and isn't currently clicking into place.

After cleaning and oiling the pivots, I re-set the movement in the case and got it going again the chime wouldn't quit after it started, and the strike just keeps going. I've read through the thread listed below which seems to be a very similar issue to mine. The two hooks in the upper right aren't catching the rod on on gear 4 (or 5). They seem to be raised above the arc and they wiggle when the whole chime cycle starts, but they don't drop. When I removed the movement from the case I tipped it forward and didn't think to keep it perfectly vertical when I transported it to my work station. I'm wondering if anything could have shifted during the walk from the case to my work station? (I did the work about 10 feet from where the clock has lived for decades, no car trips ).

I hesitate to loosen any setscrews anywhere because up until it stopped a few years ago it hadn't been jostled or moved violently so I doubt anything would have come loose and I couldn't find anything that seemed loose, bent or in anyway stuck.