Canadian Unknown Pocket Watch

BKucheran

May 20, 2021
Country
Hello everyone. This is my first time to post anything here (or elsewhere for that matter).

By complete chance I ran into a fellow at a the Vancouver Flea Market today. He held a lovely little pocket watch on a braided leather fob and was asking another gentleman if he knew how mow to ask for it. The other chap didn't know and walked away, so I stepped in and offered $50.00 (that is $C50.00 - so that means about $US20.00 if my eBay purchases are any guideline). In any case the chap agreed and now I am the owner of a wonderful little pocket watch that I know nothing about and the last couple hours on the internet has been of no help. So, as a fairly new member of NAWCC, I thought that I should go to the experts.

So here it is. If anyone can help with this, I would be most grateful:

IMG_3216.jpg

She runs beautifully

IMG_3219.jpg

I think that reads:

Aug. Lud(s)vig
Mümldorf [SUP]A[/SUP]/JNN - or maybe - Mühldorf [SUP]A[/SUP]/JNN

The back:

IMG_3226.jpg

Inside the back:

IMG_3233.jpg

Near the bottom, I think that I can make out,
Galonne

The movement is lovely:

IMG_3222.jpg

But the only mark that I can see is:

IMG_3223.jpg

And . . . there it is. If anyone can offer any insights, I would be most grateful.

Cheers,
Bob IMG_3219.jpg

JTD

Sep 27, 2005
Country
Mühldorf am Inn is a small town in Bavaria (Germany). August Ludwig was likely a local retailer.

Not much seems to be known about the firm of J. Kratzner in Hanau. As roughbarked says, Galonne indicates the case is silver plate.

Others may know more.

JTD

gmorse

NAWCC Member
Jan 7, 2011
Breamore, Hampshire, UK
Country
Region
Hi BKucheran,
Galonne indicates the case is silver plate.
This can mean that it's silver plated onto a base metal, or gold plated onto silver, which is obviously more desirable.

Regards,

Graham

JTD

Sep 27, 2005
Country
Hi BKucheran,