Unknown Manufacture

Discussion in 'General Clock Discussions' started by sapper69k, Aug 28, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. sapper69k

sapper69k Registered User

Aug 24, 2019
    Male
    Retired Soldier
    Puget Sound
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Came to me recently, with an other clock. I find no name or numbers to give a clue to date or manufacture.

I am a rookie at this and have no idea of the variety of "everything" that can exist. So here are some pictures I took as I explored for names numbers proof marks anything that might hint at manufacture time and place (to no avail.

Unknown Clock 007.JPG Unknown Clock 005.JPG Unknown Clock 004.JPG Unknown Clock 001.JPG Unknown Clock 002.JPG Unknown Clock 009.JPG Unknown Clock 008.JPG

A couple of details suggest amateur / hobbyist / apprentice: The hammer spring is not a nicely formed coil spring with a tail, enameling "overspray" on the back of the face. The chipping around the faceplate screws suggest it has been removed many times. There are a couple of wood plates behind the movement as spacers to create the correct relationship between the movement and the face of the clock, that craftmanship is not as nice as the rest of the case. Craftmanship comment also applies to the back of the case. The face is 4 pieces: 2 concentric brass bezels and 2 concentric galvanized / enameled plates

It seems to be a 30 hour movement, and keeps decent time, Strike tone is muted a little dull for my taste, but not unpleasant. I created some shims out of thin aluminum to steady up the minute hand on the shaft, otherwise it is as it came.

Comment, questions, snide remarks?

David

2. lpbp

lpbp Registered User
    NAWCC Star Fellow NAWCC Life Member

Aug 25, 2000
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: