Understanding behind-the-dial mechanism

Discussion in 'Tower, Monumental & Street Clocks' started by focusrsh_b07732, Jun 2, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. focusrsh_b07732

focusrsh_b07732 Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Dec 17, 2009
    I am a complete beginner at anything related to public time clocks, so please excuse what probably are some "duh" questions.

Last year at the Chattanooga NAWCC mart, I bought the remains of large clock. It clearly was meant to drive a dial remote to it, since there is a bevel drive coming up out the top.

So the question: Since only a single shaft goes out the top, presumably the minute drive, is there a 12:1 reduction gear behind the remote dial to drive the hour hand, just as there is in many inexpensive small clocks? I've never seen the behind-the-dial mechanism for a clock with a remote dial. Can someone post some photos?

I'll have to machine everything from scratch, which isn't a problem. I do have lots of experience restoring smaller clocks, everything from Ansonia kitchen clocks to a Synchronome, and have plenty of large and small shop tools, lathes, vertical mill, etc., but it would be nice to see what has been done before and not reinvent the wheel. (And reinvent all the mistakes, too.)

Unless...

Anyone have a dial and associated parts? My goal is to install this clock with the public face on the outside of my shop, so something maybe 18 inches across would be about the right size.

Thanks,
    Carl Dreher

IMG_6358.JPG IMG_6375.JPG

2. FDelGreco

FDelGreco Registered User
    NAWCC Star Fellow Sponsor NAWCC Diamond Member

Aug 28, 2000
    Male
    Retired chemical engineer
    Novelty, OH
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Carl: