Ultrasonic cleaner question

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by Ticktocktime100, Apr 13, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Ticktocktime100

Ticktocktime100 Registered User

Hi all,

It's been a while since I last posted. After many years of cleaning my clocks by hand, albeit effectively, with a brass brush, I am considering investing in an ultrasonic cleaner. From the relatively basic research I have done so far, I understand that there are a great deal of different models and specifications, so could anyone suggest a model that is efficient and affordable (as I'm an amateur horologist, not a professional)? As an aside, do you regard ultrasonic cleaners as the best solution for clock cleaning, or are there even better options in your opinion?

Regards.

2. R. Croswell

R. Croswell Registered User

Apr 4, 2006
    Male
    Trappe, Md.
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I consider an ultrasonic cleaner a tool to supplement the cleaning process. It ain't magic and it won't eliminate the need to do some hand cleaning. I always disassemble clocks before cleaning in the ultrasonic, so if you are only working on one clock at a time and not trying to clean assembled movements a huge machine is just a waste of money, plus it costs more to fill. I have one from Harbor Freight that I believe they still sell for under $100. It does fine for me. Some larger plates may not fit in and have to be cleaned by hand. If cost isn't an issue, I would say go for something a bit larger and deeper.

RC

3. claussclocks

claussclocks Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Mar 14, 2013
    Male
    Texas
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    #3 claussclocks, Apr 13, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2019