Two-piece mainspring on Omega pocket watch?

wmueller

New User
May 30, 2021
Country
Hello everyone,

My first post here. I have enjoyed following all of the knowledge captured in this forum.

I am working on a vintage Omega pocket watch movement (caliber 40.6L.T2.15P). When I opened open the barrel yesterday, I encountered something I had not seen before. At first, it looked like the mainspring had broken just around the arbor. However, after further inspection, I noticed that the inner section of the mainspring wrapped around the arbor appeared to be attached to the outer section of the mainspring using some form of connector. I have attached a few photos for reference. I am relatively new to this and I am wondering if this was a standard mainspring design or this is a workaround that someone placed into watch during a previous repair/service.

I do need to replace the mainspring as it was damaged where it connects with the outer barrel. However, I would like to understand if I need to factor this inner section when I install the replacement. I am also looking for NOS mainspring parts for this movement but not having any luck. Any guidance or pointers are definitely appreciated.

thanks,

Wayne

IMG_0795.jpeg

IMG_0798.jpeg

gmorse

NAWCC Member
Jan 7, 2011
Breamore, Hampshire, UK
Country
Region
Hi Wayne, and welcome to the forum,
I am wondering if this was a standard mainspring design or this is a workaround that someone placed into watch during a previous repair/service.
Yes, it certainly isn't a standard design, and I think you're being polite in calling it a workaround; others might call it a bodge, albeit an ingenious and apparently quite well-made one.

Regards,

Graham

Reactions: wmueller and Al J

wmueller

New User
May 30, 2021
Country
Graham,

Thank you for your response!

I think you're being polite in calling it a workaround; others might call it a bodge,