• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center will reopen starting Wednesday, January 6, 2021 as per Governor Wolf's reopening mandate.

Troubles with Urgos Mantel Clock

wsscott

Oct 7, 2020
Country
I'm a Newbie, and am retired so have time for projects, and am helping a friend trying to get their Urgos 6/36A mantle clock running. I've taken the movement out of the cabinet, and it all looks good. Nothing apparently broken. It will chime properly when you turn the dial at each quarter hour, half hour and hour and chime the correct hour. But it doesn't run. The area at the top that is silver colored and is where the "ticker" is, looks fine, the spring is intact, but only ticks for a few times before stopping. I was able to properly release all the tension on all 3 of the springs. I then wound them back up. Two of them wound up find, but the 3rd one which controls the strike mechanism for the chime won't lock into position and hold the spring. It appears that the flat piece of metal that applies tension to keep the lock on the gears isn't providing any tension/pressure to keep it "locked" into place. I'm attaching a photo.

So 2 questions: (1) would this affect the clock's ability to run at all, and (2) where can I get a replacement part. It looks rusty and maybe that's affecting its tension. Thanks.

Attachments

JTD

Sep 27, 2005
Country