Trick for removing a very crowded mainspring with broken click.

Willie X

Feb 9, 2008
I took in an old Sessions banjo today with a broken click. If you are not familiar with this clock, it's one of the toughest ever made to get out of its case! Often you will have to turn one or both of the top feet inward to get it out under normal circumstances.

I studied the situation for a while and thought I would wind the broken spring up using a large letdown tool and then tie off the key wing to the movement with soft iron tie wire (photo #1). Then, with the key and spring secured in the partly wound position, I was able to fish a length of tie wire up and around the spring and restrain it (photo #2). This wasn't that hard to do with the help of some long nose pliers and a large hemostat.

The hardest part is restraining the spring in such close quarters. It's easy to secure the key and the tensioned spring.
IMG_20210405_174629.jpg IMG_20210405_175545.jpg
Good luck, Willie X

Last edited:
Reactions: NEW65 and DennyI

wow

NAWCC Member
Jun 24, 2008
Pineville, La. (central La.)
Country
Region
Well, I never thought about tieing a key wing. Good idea. Looks like a tough job getting that wire in there and then twisting it. Never worked on one of those but I’ll remember this if I do. Some tambour models are tough too if the spring breaks or click breaks.
Thanks for sharing, Willie.

Willie X

Feb 9, 2008
Wow,
On tambours, just wind with a battery drill, one that has a one way clutch. This will hold the spring in tension while you pop on a "C" clip from the back. That won't work with a banjo, no way to put the "C" clip on! Willie

shutterbug

Staff member
NAWCC Member
Oct 19, 2005
North Carolina
Country
Region
You have to be part inventor when working on clocks :)
:thumb:

disciple_dan

NAWCC Member
Donor
Mar 10, 2016
Plant City
Country
Region