Tool Recommendations

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by Greg Maxwell, Mar 20, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Greg Maxwell

Greg Maxwell New Member

Mar 20, 2018
    Male
    Country Flag:
    I am new to clock repairas a hobby, and am in the process of collecting tools. I have bought a basket case banjo clock, and was wondering what tools I should start with

2. Willie X

Willie X Registered User

Feb 9, 2008
    Well, a good set of hand tools is a good place to start. I like Sears and Snap-On screwdrivers (1/8", 3/16" & 1/4") all with 6" shanks, and a set of jewelers screwdrivers.
    I like standard size pliers, usually 5 1/2" or 6". On the pliers, you need: parallel jaw, needle nose, side cutters, nippers, duck bill, and water pump pliers (small and medium). Channel Lock makes most of these, I can get you the numbers if you want. Assorted hemostats are in constant use and a medium size 4" vise with rotating base mounted to a solid bench is a must.

Next: a good mainspring winder, a bushing machine, a table top drill press and a foredom tool, with accessories for all ...

All these things will get you started and cost around 2K. But you can easily get out for about half that by looking around at yard sales, flee markets, and on line.

Don't start out with junkie tools. It's much better to start out with fewer quality tools and add more as necessary. I once bought a nice 1950s Bergeon bushing tool with all the tools (no bushings) for 100 bucks and a friend bought me the big wooden box set of Bergeon watchmaker screwdrivers for 2 bucks at a yard sale

Good luck, Willie X

3. harold bain

harold bain Registered User
    NAWCC Member Deceased

Nov 4, 2002
    Male
    deceased
    Whitby, Ontario, Canada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
  4. dad1891

dad1891 Registered User

Feb 28, 2014
    Male
    Denver, Colorado
    Country Flag: