Time involved for overhaul? Thoughts?

MuseChaser

NAWCC Member
Feb 5, 2019
Country
Region
On a well-known website source for movements and service I read a discussion about the pros of buying a new movement from this company (or any company, really) versus overhauling an old movement, assuming a suitable new replacement was available. Much of what they said made sense, but one statement was cause for wonderment/ponderance.

I didn't get the site's permission to quote it, and the article was copyrighted, so I'll paraphrase. The assertion was made that overhauling a clock movement would typically take one to three months, and as long as a year in some cases, with a resulting cost of twice what a new movement would cost.

I am a complete amateur, and understand that the movements I work on, so far, are almost exclusively simple time/strike movements, either count-wheel or rack and snail. I've done two chime clocks, including a Sessions two-train chimer. The most recent Hiboni I did was a full tear down, clean and polish every part, bush all but two pivot holes by hand, remove and reinstall a poorly, messily soldered on bridge, reassemble, test on a stand, some rudimentary cleaning and polishing of the case, the glass, etc.... and I doubt I spent more than twelve hours total, if that. A couple enjoyable afternoons in the shop. Maybe $5-10 worth of bushings and cleaning supplies. Why/how in the world would an overhaul take months or a year, other than a backlog of work and the movement just sat there for most of that time?