• Upcoming updates
    Over the next couple of weeks we will be performing software updates on the forum. These will be completed in small steps as we upgrade individual software addons. You might occasionally see a maintenance message that will last a few minutes at most.

If we anticipate an update will take more than a few minutes, we'll put up a notice with estimated time.

Thank you!

The people behind the Waltham company and their roles or positions

Sep 10, 2021
Country
I'm relatively new to the world of American pocket watches but as I understand it, by about 1874 Waltham had their movements manufactured in America, shipped the movements over to England and had them cased (largely) at the Dennison Watch case company in Birmingham. This must have been quite an operation back in the day, but who were the people involved to make this happen?

I'm assuming there must have been a number of directors/managers in charge of various roles. A manager overlooking the American side movement production. Another person involved with the shipping side of the movements and more people taking care of operations in England.

If this were a company family tree how would this chart look starting at the top man at Waltham and slowly working down to men behind the case factory in the England?

Stephen

Reactions: topspin

Andy Dervan

Gibbs Literary Award
NAWCC Star Fellow
NAWCC Member
Oct 23, 2002
Country
Region
It is difficult to discuss the immense contribution of American Watch Co. (original name for Waltham watch co.) in a few sentences.