• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center will reopen starting Wednesday, January 6, 2021 as per Governor Wolf's reopening mandate.

SWCC SWCC master / slave difference

Dor

Jul 6, 2020
Country
Ok first I’m a newbie and A novice
I found this form while researching my newly purchased self winding clock company model F movement
About a month ago I purchased a self winding clock company movement on eBay
it did not have the case, but everything else seem to be there
my father used to make Clock cases for a hobby. I wanted to take a crack at making my first case. I got the Clock case made and I wanted to make the whole Clock a skeleton type display, so you can see all the parts.
Earlier this month when my birthday came up my wife asked me what I wanted and I thought “sure would be nice to have a master slave set of clocks“ So I bought another self winding clock. again on eBay and this one Has the square metal case and it has the light fixture for the signal
my questions here are
What’s the difference between the master and the slave clock? Isn’t the master clock really a slave to the signal that it received. I believe the master clock received a signal once a day, and as I understand it save clocks received a signal from the master clock once an hour.
I have bought the kit from kens clock Company But I would like The bigger clock that I made the case for to actually send a signal to a smaller clock that I got for my birthday so when the kit from Ken’s clock company sends a signal to my larger clock can’t it also send a signal to the slave clock.
Is there a real Physical mechanical difference between Slave and master clocks also I believe the lightbulb that was in my smaller clock is of the wrong type & wrong voltage I believe it’s a 14 V bulb
the 3 volts barely light it up
I was wondering where and if I can still get a three volt bulb for this.
The bulb socket is currently a bayonet Type

Tim Orr

National Membership Chair
Director
NAWCC Fellow
NAWCC Member