• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center are currently open. Please check the Visiting Schedule for Days and Hours at the bottom of the Visit Page.

Sus. Spring Material

Jay Fortner

Feb 5, 2011
Chiefland,Fl.
Country
Region
Bronze vs steel alloy as it relates to thickness and oscillation rate.
I'm working on a Schumer disc pend. clock. I've been servicing this clock for the past ten years now and recently the lady brought the clock in and during transport if fell over and broke the sus. spring, The original spring is blued steel .0035 thick and 1.5mm wide. I replaced it with 1mm wide alloy steel of the same thickness and it ran seriously slow. I change it out with .004 thickness spring material and still it's running very slow. I'm sure the issue is the width of the spring material and haven't found anything wider than 1mm The only thicker spring material I've found is bronze.

KurtinSA

NAWCC Member
Nov 24, 2014
San Antonio, TX
Country
Region
Not sure what a Schumer disk pendulum clock is...I can't seem to find any reference in the repair guide. That's the way to figure out what size, ie thickness, spring is needed. Haven't heard of blued steel springs...some of the earlier springs were bronzy in color. These might have been the springs produced before Terwilliger came up with the alloy NiSpan-C for making springs. Steel or bronze don't have the ability to hold a constant torsion constant over a range of temperatures...NiSpan-C does.

As for dimensions, the torsional response has to do with the cross-sectional area of the spring. I've always bought Horolovar suspension springs...they are the "correct" thickness and all I care about then is getting the proper thickness. I don't have the skill or brain power to measure the width of an Horolovar spring. Maybe someone has that tidbit of information written down somewhere! I believe all of Horolovar's springs are of a constant width.