Seth Thomas Suggested pendulum weight range for mantle clock movement # 89 & 4 1/2

Discussion in 'General Clock Discussions' started by John Eckenrode, Apr 11, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. John Eckenrode

John Eckenrode Registered User

Mar 3, 2018
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Hello folks, I'm new to this game, and have a couple of seth Thomas movements, one numbered 89c and another numbered 4 1/2. I cleaned and oiled them. I'm noticing that they both run ok using a pendulum weighing 2.8 oz but run for a while and stop on pendulums weighing 4.6 and 5.2 oz. What are your thoughts on the best weight for these movements. Note, one 89c is pictured below.

Also, a quick question - do the lantern pinions need to be oiled, or just the bushings on the front / back plates?

Thanks folks!
    s-l275.jpg

2. KyleG

KyleG Registered User

Nov 4, 2006
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Most of the S/T clocks I own with 89 type movements came with 5-5.2 oz weights and run fine. Others with more experience may have other opinions.

John Eckenrode likes this.
  3. Uhralt

Uhralt Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Sep 4, 2008
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    First of all, don't oil pinions. That would cause excessive wear due to abrasive dirt getting embedded in the oil. Oil the bushings. Your problem might be related to the fact that the clock may be slightly out of beat. A heavier pendulum causes more problems than a lighter one if the clock is out of beat because the heavier pendulum needs to be pushed "up the hill" on one side. The clock is in beat when you hear an even tick-tock.

It is also possible that you have a power problem and maybe a bushing or more need to be replaced.

Uhralt

4. Bruce Alexander

Bruce Alexander Registered User
    Sponsor NAWCC Brass Member

Feb 22, 2010
    Male
    Retired, not tired
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: