Stringing a Wood Clock

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by grasshopper, Jun 13, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. grasshopper

grasshopper Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Sep 3, 2013
    Retired now work part time as an Adjunct Professor
    Wells, ME
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Semi-newbie here…I recently picked this wood clock up at a local yard sale. I thought it would be a fun clock to get running. It needs a pendulum leader which I think I can make…but I have no idea how to string weights on this movement. There are two pulleys that drive the one train (I think). I have never seen anything like this before and am completely confused.Any suggestion would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

wood 1.jpg Wood 2.jpg wood 3.jpg wood 4.jpg

2. shutterbug

shutterbug Super Moderator
    NAWCC Member

Oct 19, 2005
    Male
    Self employed interpreter/clock repairer
    Iowa
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Do a search for "Buco". There are several varieties. We used to have a thread devoted to them, but I can't find it now.

3. bruce linde

bruce linde Technical Admin
    NAWCC Member Donor

Nov 13, 2011
    web developer
    oakland, ca.
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    best way to search the MB is to use google ... search for this:

buco site:mb.nawcc.org

4. shutterbug

NAWCC Member

Oct 19, 2005
    Male
    Iowa
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Here's the one I was thinking of. It takes you to the last page though, so you'll have to click page one at the bottom to see all the varieties.

5. grasshopper

NAWCC Member

Sep 3, 2013
    Wells, ME
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag: