Strange Brockbanks Conversion??

Discussion in 'European & Other Pocket Watches' started by Allan C. Purcell, Sep 29, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Allan C. Purcell

Allan C. Purcell Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Feb 9, 2013
    Male
    retired
    Germany
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    I found this Brockbanks movement laying a plastic bag among the cheap stuff in a Watch & Clock mart in Recklinghausen yesterday. I am no expert when it comes to the mechanics, but I do think this watch is converted from verge to cylinder, plus it has holes in places you would expect even then, or when it was converted. So here are the photographs for you to look at. Though it will cost me to get it running, I think it will be worth it just for the dial, it is almost perfect. If I am correct those pins sticking out of the balance could have been left-over from the verge, but then again maybe not.

Allan.

e-1.JPG e-2.JPG e-3.JPG e-4.JPG e-5.JPG e-6.JPG e-7.JPG

e-9.JPG e-8.JPG

Keith R... likes this.
  2. Lychnobius

Lychnobius Registered User

Aug 5, 2015
    Semi-retired designer & printer
    Redruth, Cornwall, UK
    Country Flag:
    From the images it looks as if the hole where the balance-staff passed through the back-plate is circular; in a movement built as a verge, would it not have been squared off to allow space for the vertical crown-wheel?

At the same time I can see why Allan feels that this movement has been modified in some way, since the inner profile of the barrel-bridge suggests that the balance-wheel was once considerably larger.

The protruding and squared-off end of the barrel arbor is curious. I suppose this could mean that the movement was designed to have an exposed set-up on the barrel-bridge but that this was never actually fitted, or else that it was removed and a new barrel-bridge, with no provision for the set-up wheel, was subsequently added.