Standard Electric Standard Electric Time Cc-Self WInding Master Clock Power Question or SOmething Else?

Discussion in 'Electric Horology' started by popeye, Nov 23, 2014.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. popeye

popeye Registered User

May 8, 2005
    Country Flag:
    #1 popeye, Nov 23, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2014
    I have a master clock and using for power a Switching AC/DC power adapter AC100-240v 50/60Hz 0.3A. The self winding does not push the wheel high enough to turn it. It clicks and pushes up but can not push enough to move.
    Is it the power source I am using? Should I wire it directly into wall outlet? Or is it something else stopping it from pushing to turn?
    Advice and information would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks!
    Attaching some pictures-let me know if more pictures or information needed?

Attached Files:

2. eskmill

eskmill Registered User
    NAWCC Fellow NAWCC Member

Aug 24, 2000
    Region Flag:
    Re: Standard Electric Time Cc-Self WInding Master Clock Power Question or SOmething E

The 0.3 amp wall wart you are trying to use is too weak. You should find a 24 VDC source with more "moxie." One thing you can do is to add a large 100 MFD or more capacitor to the output of the wall wart. The energy stored in the capacitor will provide more amps for a few milliseconds added to the wimp.

Adjustment of the winding armature to the magnet cores is critical in addition to careful adjustment of the winding and check pawls.

Don't even think of using 120 volt AC on the movement. All the smoke will come out of the magnet. :whistle:

3. popeye

popeye Registered User

May 8, 2005
    Country Flag:
    #3 popeye, Nov 23, 2014

Attached Files:

4. eskmill

eskmill Registered User

Aug 24, 2000
    Region Flag:
    #4 eskmill, Nov 23, 2014
    Re: Standard Electric Time Cc-Self WInding Master Clock Power Question or SOmething E