Standard Electric master wiring re-do

Discussion in 'Electric Horology' started by hickorydickorydoc, Apr 4, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. It's Coming
    Just Two More Days
  1. hickorydickorydoc

hickorydickorydoc Registered User
    NAWCC Member

May 25, 2007
    Maine
    Country Flag:
    Hello,
    I have a Standard Electric master that I am trying to restore. I've been through the movement, and it will run nicely on a manual wind of the mainspring. But - electricity is a little out of my comfort zone and I don't want to fry anything, except bacon! Unfortunately, most of the wires to the interior metal components in this clock had been snipped. The movement was completely separated from the case, and even the ammeter and pilot dials have had their wires detached. The back of the case and the setting and testing buttons at the bottom appear to be intact. I've got a wiring diagram, but just want to be sure how the movement is properly hooked up.

A. My escape arbor has an insulated arm in front of the escape wheel with two contacts. There is also a similar arm behind the escape wheel with one contact. As the clock runs, the front arm makes contact at 0 and 30 seconds, and then the rear contact touches at about the 3 or 4 second mark. Can someone confirm my suspicion that the front arm causes the rewind coil to activate twice a minute, and the rear one advances the slave circuits once a minute? Or is it supposed to go the other way around?
    B. I'm guessing that the big wires from the resistor (if that's what it is?) to the left of the movement go directly to the terminals of the rewind coil? And the smaller wires coming out of the case back near the mounting frame are ground wires that attach to the cast frame? (see photo)