Spring winder

T

trevor thomas

Does any one have a drawing of a spring winder,so that I could have a go at making one. The cost of a ready made job seems a little excessive to say the least,I could buy a couple more clocks for the prices quoted.I recently replaced a spring in a German wall clock but had to inovate replacement using a g clamp which was succesful but more than a little risky if you know what I mean.The main parts I need to know about are the bit where the spring goes, and the part that does the winding, the rest I think I can design myself ,Please send pictures.I am still very new to this hobby but enjoying every MINUTE Ha Ha . Trev

T

trevor thomas

Does any one have a drawing of a spring winder,so that I could have a go at making one. The cost of a ready made job seems a little excessive to say the least,I could buy a couple more clocks for the prices quoted.I recently replaced a spring in a German wall clock but had to inovate replacement using a g clamp which was succesful but more than a little risky if you know what I mean.The main parts I need to know about are the bit where the spring goes, and the part that does the winding, the rest I think I can design myself ,Please send pictures.I am still very new to this hobby but enjoying every MINUTE Ha Ha . Trev

Robert M.

Nov 20, 2004
Trev,one of the fella's who is a frequent poster on this site,Joe Collins,made his own spring winder and it looks quite functional and appealing to the eye.Hopefully Joe will see your post and respond in kind.If not you can send him a private message and knowing Joe he would be more than happy to get you started.
Best of luck with your mainspring winder endeavors.
Respectfully,Bob Fullerton

Scottie-TX

Deceased
Apr 6, 2004
Mesquite, TX
Country
Region
Go to the "FIND" box and type in, "mainspring winder" and you can benefit from MANY previous posts on this subject. I'm not brushin' ya off - just giving you more information in the interim.

Mike Phelan

Dec 17, 2003