South Bend Size 12 Grade 407 Hairspring Replacement

JuliusSqueezer

Mar 17, 2021
Country
Good evening everyone,

Newbie here. Please go easy on me.

I’m fairly new to the watch collecting and repair scene.
I think we all know where this is going.

Long story short, I have destroyed my South Bends Hairspring and am having some real trouble finding even a parts movement to replace it.

I do understand that Hairsprings aren’t “plug and play”, and I’ve learned my lesson - the very hard way.

I’m begging you guys here. I’ve looked everywhere and asked everyone and I can’t dig anything up as of yet.

Can someone point me in the direction I should be looking for a replacement Hairspring and/or balance assembly for a 12s 407 movement?

musicguy

Staff member
NAWCC Member
Sponsor
Jan 12, 2017
New York State
Country
Moving thread to watch repair section.

Welcome to the NAWCC forum!

Rob

Tom Huber

NAWCC Member
Dec 9, 2000
Indiana PA
Country
Region
Your 407 is an unadjusted movement so you are looking for a flat hairspring. I checked my stock and the only one that I can readily find is an over coil hairspring used on an adjusted movement. I'll keep looking.

Tom

JuliusSqueezer

Mar 17, 2021
Country
Your 407 is an unadjusted movement so you are looking for a flat hairspring. I checked my stock and the only one that I can readily find is an over coil hairspring used on an adjusted movement. I'll keep looking.

Tom
Thank you, Tom. I really appreciate it.

The hairspring that was in it had a slight overcoil on it. Does that mean the hairspring was replaced with the wrong one at some point?

Tom Huber

NAWCC Member
Dec 9, 2000
Indiana PA
Country
Region
Normally unadjusted watches have a flat hairspring. The curb pins are usually differ on the regulator for flat and over coil

Noone knows what changes could have been made over the years

Tom

JuliusSqueezer

Mar 17, 2021
Country