Son of a preacher - man!

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by peanuts, Oct 7, 2019.

Tags:
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. peanuts

peanuts Registered User

Mar 21, 2017
    Male
    Retired
    Shaftesbury, UK
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    #1 peanuts, Oct 7, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2019
    I recently made a mess of opening up a hole for a bushing (don't ask; I'm new to this...and dumb!), so knew I had lost centre (USA: center). Time for a preacher...

I looked at the designs I could see on the message board, and decided to make an adjustable one, rather than a fixed one. I copied - as best I could - the design in the one pictured here: Best measuring instrument

When I tried to use it i realized that after I transferred the preacher from the 'good' plate to the 'bad' plate, it was canted over at an angle because the pin that was over the problem hole was now in contact with the plug I had made, so much higher. I tapped the pin anyway and drilled a hole at the spot. Suffice it to say, it was not centred.

I also realized that the two 'good' reference pivot holes were different diameters, creating another problem if the two relevant pins were the same depth.

So I spend a happy few hours making preacher that would overcome these problems; i.e.:

a) the pin for the 'bad' hole needed to be capable of being raised and lowered without affecting the triangulation of the other two pins.
    b) those other two pins needed to be height-adjustable, prior to setting up the triangulation.

This is what I came up with:

2019-10-07 13.20.39.jpg 2019-10-07 13.20.53.jpg
    In the first picture (all the pins are vertical; camera distortion makes them appear otherwise...):

(a) The pin on the left is a close fit and relatively free to float up and down, and that is the pin for the 'bad' hole, and the one I will tap to mark the plug.