SMITHS K6A 8 day Westminster Clock, need assistance

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by The General, Aug 31, 2012.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. The General

The General Registered User

Aug 25, 2012
    Retired Paramedic Manager
    Halifax, NS
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hi All,

I am new to this, i have loved old clocks for years, and have purchased a few, ok more than a few from auctions etc. The first one i bought cost me a lot to fix, i ordered the "Clock Repair primer", and was successful in getting a coo coo clock going. I found this site and am amazed how many people do this for fun, and the information has already been very helpful.

I purchased this Smith clock thinking it was a Seth Thomas, when i got home i found out it was a smiths, it would not run, i took movement out and it was gummed up badly, with the advice of others that i looked at on here, i disassembled, cleaned etc. I have searched the net, attempted to get info from clock shops here, but not much info given.

I put it back together yesterday, the issue is that I didn't take a good enough picture of the time side, i had cleaned spring etc and cant get the time train wheels etc done right, i did get it all together, but one pinion on the time spring isn't right.

Does anyone have one of these intact, or a parts diagram of what it should look like with the plate off??, also the pallet set up is not grabbing every tooth, all seems tight, no up and down movement of the arbor etc, but i can deal with that after, once i get it together

Thx for any response and assistance, and thx in advance

Nebah

2. David S

David S Registered User
    NAWCC Member Donor

Dec 18, 2011
    Male
    Inventor, Professional Engineer - Retired
    Brockville, On Canada
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Welcome Nebah. Can you post some pictures of the movement you have from a few different angles?

3. Kevin W.