Pocket: Sidereal

Discussion in 'Chronometers' started by Paul Regan, Oct 9, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Paul Regan

Paul Regan Registered User

Mar 4, 2003
    Florida
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Hello All,
    Here is a Waltham Model '92 Sidereal. Were these ever used in navigation or were they strictly an Observatory horology tool? Oh, BTW, I thought the watch deserved a nice home so I made the box last week. I am a better woodworker then horologist!
    Paul
    DSCN5945 (2).JPG DSCN5949.JPG DSCN5941.JPG DSCN5942.JPG

2. burt

burt Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Sep 5, 2008
    Male
    police officer (ret.)
    McKees Rocks,Pa.
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    Paul,

Very nice watch and certainly a outstanding piece of workmanship on the box!

I've been looking into the Sidereal timing instruments for some time now and have arrived at some conclusions. Astronomy is the oldest of the Sciences and as soon as man determined the Earth wasn't flat and the Sun didn't orbit it but the other way around Astronomers have learned a great deal about the Universe we live in.