Should I replace these shallow bushings?

Discussion in 'Clock Repair' started by peanuts, Sep 9, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. peanuts

peanuts Registered User

Mar 21, 2017
    Male
    Technical Author
    Shaftesbury, UK
    Country Flag:
    I'm just starting work on a Westminster chime weight-driven grandmother clock. (I cannot tell you how excited I am to have acquired my first long-case clock!)

There are several previously-installed bushings that are shallower than the plates:
    View attachment 356019
    I estimate that these are 1.5mm bushings installed in 2.5 mm plates. Should I replace them? I have 3mm bushings available. As a beginner I'd be grateful for any advice!

2. Willie X

Willie X Registered User

Feb 9, 2008
    That one looks to be very close to center. I would probably leave it, assuming it is high in the train. Off center, or low in the train, I would replace.
    Willie X

3. R. Croswell

R. Croswell Registered User
    NAWCC Member

Apr 4, 2006
    Male
    Trappe, Md.
    Country Flag:
    Region Flag:
    The important thing is that the end of the pivot should extend slightly beyond the end of the opening in the bushing. Thick plates typically have deep 'oil sinks' or recessed bushings. As for replacing, if the bushing isn't worn I would leave it alone.

RC

4. R&A

R&A Registered User

Oct 21, 2008
    Country Flag:
    I agree with RC Pivots should be slightly proud above the bushing

5. Jerry Kieffer

Jerry Kieffer Registered User
    NAWCC Member

May 31, 2005
    Male
    wisconsin
    Country Flag:

Peanuts