Sharing (my first purchase)

SauronBlack

Jun 13, 2020
Country
I am new to the hobby, never collected or repaired watches. Somehow, during quarantine go interested in the subject and made my first purchase. I tried to do my research and learn as much as i can by googling and reading the threads here.

Spotted this guy on one of the estate auction. Got exited about the great condition of the dial and working movement and somehow did not do a proper research on the case itself. Now, after the watch has arrived it appears that this is not an original case (which probably for an expert was obvious from the photos). And turns out one of the case screws is missing.

Despite this, still very exited about the pristine dial and great movement. I am wondering if i should try to get an original case of an ebay and get the movement refitted or just get it serviced and keep in the current case. Any opinion would be appreciated.

88824879_DSCN0397.JPG 64814497_DSCN0388.JPG 82621607_DSCN0394.JPG 32211304_DSCN0391.JPG 82621607_DSCN0394.JPG

Bila

Jan 22, 2010
www.ozwatchstore.com
Country
You are correct, not the right case but a good pick-up for an everyday use watch if you did not pay to much for it. As for changing the case, that would be up to the individual, if you intend to use it everyday I would be inclined to use it as it is (once you get a case screw). Also a clean, service and adjustment would always do the old watch justice, although this is not a cheap exercise and would be worth more then the watch.

p.s. Welcome to the message board:)

SauronBlack

Jun 13, 2020
Country
Thank you for the tips! I guess i could have found a slightly cheaper option (auction bonus and taxes + shipping are taking a lot) but indeed it was not that bad. Will have to think how to wear it. The mechanism is also surprisingly loud, did not expect that.