Setting beat with Becker No.4 bracket ie no adjustment

silverman166

Feb 6, 2022
Country
I'm about to fit the new suspension spring after complete overhaul of the 1905/6 BHA Gustav Becker 400 day clock about which, as a newbie, I previously posted various questions.

Having no adjustment mechanism, how does one set the beat on such a clock? I note that the No.4 bracket (listed in the 400 day Clock Repair guide, Section 15) with which the clock is fitted has a tiny screw on one side where the suspension block slots into the bracket, but am not sure what to do with this screw.

As the width of the slot in the bracket is wider than the suspension block, is it intended to use the screw to simply centre the block within the bracket, or does it have some other function?

IMG_6253.JPG IMG_6255.JPG

KurtinSA

NAWCC Member
Nov 24, 2014
San Antonio, TX
Country
Region
Looks like this is on a Gustav Becker clock. What is the serial number? Could you show an angled view of the saddle?

Without seeing more, I think you'll have to bend the suspension spring above the fork but below the top block.

Kurt

Last edited:

GRZESIEK

Apr 3, 2017
Country
Gentlemen, what a patent for setting the clock by bending the suspension.? Do you think that it was originally so set? You need an upper block with the right thickness. The one you have is probably not original. This screw on the side is only to block the suspension.

silverman166

Feb 6, 2022
Country
My Friends

Thanks for your thoughts, and may I apologise for the tardy reply, but I was awaiting email confirmation of any response which did not materialise, so I've only just checked to see whether I had correctly posted the thread.

The Serial No. enabled me to confirm the date of manufacture given in my post, and identify the bracket no.

The idea of bending the spring seems somewhat crude to say the least - is there really no other way, and if not how does one know which way to bend it?