Seth Thomas "Stanley" Adamantine Clock Date?

Discussion in 'Your Newest Clock Acquisition' started by jfran395, Nov 4, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. jfran395

jfran395 Registered User

Oct 29, 2017
    Male
    Country Flag:
    I'm fairly new to the clock collecting community, and happy to have found such a great group as this one!

My latest purchase is a Seth Thomas adamantine clock, and I'm interested in knowing approximately when it was made. I've done some work on the case to bring it back. The movement had very little wear on it - one pivot that could probably use a bushing, but otherwise fairly clean. At this point, I just oiled it and put it back in service. (I bought a similar movement on eBay to practice on before I attempt to take this one apart) The pendulum bob appears to be just lead, with no plating or marks at all. No idea if it's original. I can find no numbers or letters on the case, only on the paper label, which is in pretty poor condition. Also, I have two questions on the case - I repainted the pinstriping on the front in white. Is that correct? I wanted to save as much of the flaking label as possible, so I put a coat of Modge over it, which seemed to do the trick. Is that an acceptable practice? DSCF9217.JPG DSCF9220.JPG DSCF9224.JPG DSCF9225.JPG DSCF9229.JPG Thanks for any help you can give me!

2. JTD

JTD Registered User

Sep 27, 2005
    Welcome to the board.

You've done a beautiful job restoring your clock. The pinstriping was probably gold originally, but there is nothing to stop you re-doing it in gold if you feel like it - you obviously have a steady hand and a good eye.

I can't tell you the exact date, but someone with the right volume of Tran's book will be along shortly, I'm sure, and will be able to tell you.