Seth Thomas case: How to preserve or should I refinish it?

lmester

NAWCC Member
Dec 30, 2009
West Virginia
mesterhome.com
Country
Region
I have a Seth Thomas Medbury. The finish is faded and has some cracking. I think the clock was made in 1960. Would it have a lacquer or shellac finish? Any ideas on how to preserve it? Should it be refinished? So far all I've done is wipe the dust off. I have no experience with case restoration. I'd welcome any suggestions.

Attachments

Thyme

Banned
Sep 18, 2006
metro NY area
It's a veneered case and since it's from 1960 it would be lacquer. Since the cracking is throughout and the finish is original and looks good, I wouldn't refinish it. Products like tung oil, which is essentially a wiping varnish, would be beneficial as it would help fill in the cracking and renew the shine. It's easy to apply with a clean cloth. Just make sure the case is totally clean before applying it.

Scottie-TX

Deceased
Apr 6, 2004
Mesquite, TX
Country
Region
I concur with thyme. I'd give it an aggressive rubdown with Skotch or 3M finishing pads to reduce the raised finish. Since it probably is lacquer you need not be concerned with the use of most refinishing products as it won't break down or slurry with applications. Again like thyme, a rubdown with finishing oil - not polishing oils - or perhaps even using a 4:1 cut of common varnish/oil would fill and minimize the evidence of cracking. I'd also consider the same type application of thinned shellac applied with a cloth swatch. I would not strip it.

Thyme

Banned
Sep 18, 2006
metro NY area