• The NAWCC Museum and Library & Research Center are currently open. Please check the Visiting Schedule for Days and Hours at the bottom of the Visit Page.

Seth Thomas 89 and me learning

TimS

Jan 12, 2021
Country
I'm kind of a newb. I've taken movements out and cleaned out gunky pivot holes and such and gently oiled several clocks in the family back to life, but that's about it.

I'm trying to step up a level, so I bought a nice "overwound" clock with a Seth Thomas 89 movement (and a nice cabinet) to use as a learning platform. Before even starting, I see that the adjusting rod is snapped. Is this a part that can be purchased? I poked around Merritts and Timesavers, but didn't find a path to it. Maybe I'm not good at searching though. My temptation is to just find a "for parts" 89 movement and scavenge from that. Is there a better path to procuring a replacement for a part like this?
[ATTACHREUSE]

movement.jpg broken89Closeup.jpg

shutterbug

Staff member
NAWCC Member
Oct 19, 2005
North Carolina
Country
Region
Timesavers sometimes has odd names for things. Here's what you need.
You might have to modify it, or just use the threaded rod.

Reactions: Dave T

tracerjack

NAWCC Member
Jun 6, 2016
Lodi, CA
Country
Region
That’s the part I thought he was referring too as well, but when I looked closer at the photos, I think it is the rod threaded at the top going up to the chops that is broken. This movement looks like it has the fast/slow adjuster in the center of the dial and not at 12.

R. Croswell

Apr 4, 2006
Trappe, Md.
www.greenfieldclockshop.com
Country
Region
Great idea to get a "for parts" movement if you can find one. Make sure it is the 2-hammer version. It can very helpful for one starting out to have an identical movement as a guide - not necessarily to take parts from. Look at the lower left corner of the movement where it should be stamped with "89" plus one or two letters. Try to find one with the same letters.